Conference Realignment News, NCAA School Message Board Directory & Conference Realignment Forum Community

2010 College Football Coaching Hotseat

Category: College Football Coaching News, Featured News

Original Publication Date: 10/21/10

Now that we’ve had Minnesota fire Tim Brewster and North Texas fire Todd Dodge, the list of openings is ready to grow. Chances are most schools will wait until the end of the season before making any changes. But as we see every year, there is a list of coaches that are seemingly on the hot seat.

The 2010 list has changed some already as coaches who appeared on their way out have put together strong seasons. But others aren’t so lucky and are still on the radar…

2010 College Football Coaching Hotseat:

1) Tim Brewster – Minnesota
2) Todd Dodge North Texas
3) Mike Locksley New Mexico
Locksley will return to UNM depite only 2 wins this year. UNM has too much money invested in his contract to cut bait.
4) Dan Hawkins Colorado
5) Neil Callaway – UAB
6) Bob Toledo – Tulane
7) Stan Parrish – Ball St.
8) Paul Wulff – Washington St.
WSU will retain Wulff for another season
9) Bill Stewart WVU
Stewart will retire after this season
10) Rich Rodriguez – Michigan
Fired, replaced by Brady Hoke

2010-2011 College Football Coach Changes

Steve Roberts – Arkansas State (replaced by Hugh Freeze )

Stan Parrish – Ball State (replaced by Pete Lembo )

Dan Hawkins – Colorado (replaced by Jon Embree )

Randy Edsall – Connecticut (replaced by Paul Pasqualoni )

Urban Meyer – Florida (replaced by Will Muschamp )

Bill Lynch – Indiana (replaced by Kevin Wilson )

Doug Martin – Kent State (replaced by Darrell Hazell )

Rickey Bustle – Louisiana (replaced by Mark Hudspeth )

Ralph Friedgen – Maryland (replaced by Randy Edsall )

Randy Shannon – Miami (Fla.) (replaced by Al Golden )

Michael Haywood – Miami (O.) (replaced by Don Treadwell )

Rich Rodriguez – Michigan (replaced by Brady Hoke )

Tim Brewster – Minnesota (replaced by Jerry Kill )

Todd Dodge – North Texas (replaced by Dan McCarney )

Jerry Kill – Northern Illinois (replaced by Dave Doeren )

Dave Wannstedt – Pittsburgh (replaced by Michael Haywood and then Haywood replaced by Todd Graham )

Brady Hoke – San Diego St. (replaced by Rocky Long )

Jim Harbaugh – Stanford (replaced by David Shaw )

Al Golden – Temple (replaced by Steve Addazio )

Todd Graham – Tulsa (replaced by Bill Blankenship )

Robbie Caldwell – Vanderbilt (replaced by James Franklin )

Bill Stewart – West Virginia (replaced by Dana Holgorsen (2012)

GD Star Rating

Tags: , , ,

Did You Enjoy This?


Related Articles:


  • Here you go. I made the changes on the fly, but didn’t get around to republishing until now. Now onto basketball coaching changes…

  • When’s a new update on College Football vacancies/coaching changes/hot seats coming?

  • Add one from the FCS ranks on the hot seat.
    Steve Patton at Gardner-Webb/

    Good talent he has brought in but recently consistantly underperformed.


We have multiple spaces on this site available for advertising. Contact us to have your company exposed to our large audience.

College Sweatshirts at

About Me:

Matt Peloquin
SKYPE: matt_peloquin Skype Me™!
Follow this site on

Reach me on:

Check out on my other professional site, . You can also reach Matt Peloquin via his other sites: Matt Peloquin Blog, as well as Matt

Or reach me on these other services:

© site designed by Matt Peloquin & Clear Stage