NCAA Conference Realignment & Expansion Message Boards

Discussions by Conference:
  It is currently Thu Apr 19, 2018 7:54 pm

Help support by shopping
College T-shirts at

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1 post ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Nov 26, 2013 6:18 am 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2005 11:14 pm
Posts: 1174
Location: Ciales-Manatí-Bayamón, Puerto Rico
Prior to 1991, ALL FBS (Div. I-A) conferences had a maximum number of upto at least 9-10 schools, plus tens of Indy schools along the way, and NEITHER didn't have a CCG until the SEC became the first conference to establish one with the additions of Arkansas (former SWC full member) and South Carolina (former Metro non-football full member with Indy football). 5 years later, the Big 12 (then the Big 8) started to have their CCG with the merged additions of the "top leftovers" of the defunct SWC (making references to the 4 Texas schools); while the "mid-major leftovers" (Rice, SMU and TCU) joined the WAC, who also made their own CCG (which it was short-lived because most of the longtime WAC schools parted ways to create their own conference); and leaving Houston to join C-USA. On the following year, the MAC also started a CCG after re-adding Northern Illinois and Marshall. Almost a decade had passed, and due to conference realignment, the ACC and C-USA also sponsored their first CCG's respectively. Now recently on this decade, specifically in 2011, the Big 12 CCG came to an end when Nebraska joined the Big TEN and Colorado (along with Utah from the MW) joined the Pac-10 (now as the Pac-12), leading both of these conferences to respectively have their own CCG's. But presently, other conferences have started to plan their own CCG's in the future as long as they get the requirement when it comes to expansion, which the key number is 12. For instance, the MW recently started their own CCG (with fb-affiliate Hawaii, after the additions of San Jose State and Utah State). However, the conference in question for a CCG at this moment are the Sun Belt and The American (or AAC). But all aside, the "Power 5" conferences are getting more hungry when it comes to have like over 14 members. The key questions is: "Will there be a split just like what happened to the WAC after the 1998-99 season?"

Florida State Seminoles fan for life (mostly on football, basketball and baseball)! 2011-12 ACC men's basketball conference tournament champions; 2012, 2013 & 2014 ACC football Atlantic Division champions; 2012, 2013 & 2014 ACC football regular season champions; 2012, 2013 & 2014 ACC football conference bowl tournament champions; 2014 NCAA D-I FBS BCS national champions; 2015 ACC baseball conference tournament champions!

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1 post ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Support Our Partners: Search Engine Marketing - Search Engine Optimization - Search Engine Training - Online Marketing for Restuarants

NCAA Store - Food Travel Ideas

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group