NCAA Conference Realignment & Expansion Message Boards

Discussions by Conference:
  It is currently Fri Apr 20, 2018 7:35 am

Help support by shopping
College T-shirts at

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1 post ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Sep 05, 2008 8:13 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 07, 2003 9:02 pm
Posts: 1465
Location: Richmond, Virginia
September 03, 2008
By Gary Brown
The NCAA News


Now that the Division II football season is underway, the Division II Management Council is reminding the football community of an adjustment in the way regions will be named for selection purposes.

Previously labeled geographically, regions now will be renamed “super regionals” and be categorized numerically so as to not create confusion with the geographically based labels in Division II’s regionalization model.

Thus, effective with the 2008 championship, the four “super regionals” for football selection purposes are:

• Super Regional One (composed of the Atlantic and East regions)

• Super Regional Two (South and Southeast regions)

• Super Regional Three (Central and Midwest regions)

• Super Regional Four (South Central and West regions)


“The Division II Management Council wanted to distinguish the organization of the championship from the new regionalization model,” said Council Chair and New Haven Athletics Director Debbie Chin. “Since the previous regional nomenclature for selection purposes used some of the same geographical references as the regionalization model, we felt it best to avoid as much confusion as possible by changing the football regions to a numerical format.”

For example, Chin said, three of the former region names recommended originally by the Division II Football Committee in the four-region football selection format were Central, Southeast and West, names that also represent three of the eight regions in the Division II regionalization model. The Management Council’s move to rename the football regions alleviates what Chin said was bound to be confusion as Division II members adjust to the new regionalization model.

Chin also said the quarterfinal-round contests in the new Division II Football Championship labeling format could now also be known as super-regional championship games.

The super-regional matchups in the semifinals have been established as follows through 2010:

• 2008 – Super Regional Two vs. Super Regional Four/Super Regional One vs. Super Regional Three

• 2009 - Super Regional Three vs. Super Regional Two/ Super Regional One vs. Super Regional Four

• 2010 - Super Regional Three vs. Super Regional Four/ Super Regional Two vs. Super Regional One

Last edited by bige on Sun Sep 07, 2008 7:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1 post ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  



Support Our Partners: Search Engine Marketing - Search Engine Optimization - Search Engine Training - Online Marketing for Restuarants

NCAA Store - Food Travel Ideas

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group