NCAA Conference Realignment & Expansion Message Boards

Discussions by Conference:
  It is currently Thu Apr 26, 2018 4:14 am

Help support by shopping
College T-shirts at

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2007 6:26 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2002 8:05 am
Posts: 827
Location: Louisville, KY
February 25, 1994 - The Big 8 Conference has extended invitations to Texas and Texas A&M of the Southwest Conference, and LSU and Arkansas of the Southeastern Conference. All four members begin competing in the newly christened Big 12 Conference in August 1996.

What will Division I-A look like in the Fall of 1996?

BTW, here are all of the other I-A conferences as they would have been at the time:

Pac 10 (10) - UCLA, Southern California, California, Stanford, Arizona, Arizona State, Washington, WSU, Oregon, Oregon State

Southwest (6) - Baylor, Rice, SMU, *Houston, TCU, Texas Tech

WAC (10) - Hawaii, Wyoming, San Diego State, Fresno State, UTEP, New Mexico, BYU, Utah, Colorado State, Air Force

Big West (10; all but Utah State, UNLV, New Mexico State, San Jose State, and Nevada are football only) - Northern Illinois, Arkansas State, Louisana-Lafayette, Louisiana Tech, New Mexico State, Utah State, UNLV, Nevada, San Jose State, Pacific (Pacific will drop football in 1996)

Independents (12) - Tulsa, North Texas, *Tulane, LA-Monroe, *Memphis, *Southern Mississippi, *Louisville, *Cincinnati, East Carolina, Notre Dame, (Central Florida will join in 1996)

Big 10 (11) - Minnesota, Iowa, Illinois, Wisconsin, Northwestern, Purdue, Indiana, Ohio State, Penn State, Michigan, Michigan State

MAC (10) - Toledo, Miami-OH, Bowling Green, Akron, Kent State, Ohio, Ball State, WMU, CMU, EMU

ACC (9) - Florida State, Georgia Tech, Clemson, UNC, Duke, NCSU, wake Forest, Virginia, Maryland

Southeastern (10) - Florida, Georgia, South Carolina, Tennessee, Vanderbilt, Kentucky, Alabama, Auburn, Ole Mississippi, Mississippi State

Big East (8, Virginia Tech and Temple are football only) - Temple, Pittsburgh, Virginia Tech, West Virignia, Rutgers, Syracuse, Boston College, Miami

*Conference USA begins competition in all sports except football in August 1995. Football will begin in 1996. Houston did not compete in Conference USA during the 1995-96 season.

Last edited by wbyeager on Thu Jul 19, 2007 6:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2007 9:07 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2002 8:05 am
Posts: 827
Location: Louisville, KY
My take:

The Southwest Conference adds independent Tulsa; UTEP, New Mexico, Air Force and Colorado State from the WAC; and New Mexico State from the Big West:
West - Texas Tech, UTEP, New Mexico, New Mexico State, Colorado State, Air Force
East - Tulsa, Southern Methodist, Baylor, Texas Christian, Rice, Houston

The WAC adds Utah State, UNLV, San Jose State, and Nevada, all from the Big West.

The SEC, turned down by Duke and North Carolina, add North Carolina State and Wake Forest:
North - Kentucky, Tennessee, Vanderbilt, South Carolina, North Carolina State, Wake Forest
South - Alabama, Auburn, Mississippi, Mississippi State, Georgia, Florida

The ACC adds Virginia Tech (Big East Football/Metro for other sports) and Miami (Big East).

The Big East, down to 6 for football, adds independents Louisville, Cincinnati, and South Florida for all sports:
Football (9) - Rutgers, Syracuse, Boston College, Louisville, Cincinnati, South Florida, West Virginia, Pittsburgh, Temple (Football Only)
Non-football (7): Notre Dame, Connecticut, Georgetown, Providence, St. John's, Seton Hall, Villanova

Big West members Louisiana-Lafayette (Sun Belt), Louisiana Tech (Sun Belt), Arkansas State (Sun Belt), and North Texas (Southland) with independents UAB (Great Midwest), Memphis, (Great Midwest), Louisiana-Monroe (Southland), East Carolina (CAA), Central Florida (TAAC), and Southern Miss (Metro), begin play in the Sun Belt football league. Southern Miss, Memphis, UAB, and Central Florida join the Sun Belt for all sports, while Jacksonville leaves the Sun Belt for the TAAC and UALR leaves for the Southland. North Texas and LA-Monroe ultimately swap conferences with UTPA and Lamar.

The Metro-Great Midwest merger that forms Conference USA never happens. Instead, Marshall moves to the MAC with remaining Big West member Northern Illinois (MWCC). Depaul, Marquette, Dayton, and Saint Louis all join the Atlantic 10. Charlotte joins the CAA (Richmond never joins the Atlantic 10).

Army, Navy, and Notre Dame remain independent.

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Support Our Partners: Search Engine Marketing - Search Engine Optimization - Search Engine Training - Online Marketing for Restuarants

NCAA Store - Food Travel Ideas

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group